A New Gaze 2 – 2019

Process and jury

«A New Gaze 2» focused on contemporary African photography. The theme of the second edition was Identity. With the support of 25 experts in contemporary African photography and art, we invited 80 photographers from different parts of Africa to submit a project proposal. In our nomination process, we attached great importance to achieving the widest geographical coverage we could, but also a wide variety of photographic conceptions.

We would like to thank the members of Nominating Committee:

Federica Angelucci, Rory Bester, Aicha Diallo, Peter DiCampo, Teju Cole, Julia Grosse, Danda Jaroljmek, Olfa Feki, John Fleetwood, Maheder Haileselassie, Lekgetho Makola, Kabelo Malatsie, Jeanne Mercier, Aida Muluneh, James Murik, Thato Mogotsi, Azu Nwagbogu, Musa Nxumalo, Uche Okpa-Iroha, Sean O Toole, Remi Onabanjo, Jo Ractliffe, Flurina Rothenberger, Andrea Thal, Brendan Wattenberg.


The jury was augmented by two guest jurors:

Azu Nwagbogu


Azu Nwagbogu is the Director of the African Artists' Foundation (AAF), a non-profit organization founded in Lagos, Nigeria in 2007. He is also the Director of LagosPhoto, the International Festival of Art and Photography, which has been held annually since 2010. In spring 2018 he has been appointed as chief curator for the Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa (MOCAA) in Cape Town. Mr. Nwagbogu is a connoisseur of African art and photography and advises a number of collectors, companies and institutions.

Julia Grosse


Julia Grosse is a journalist, art historian, and editor-in-chief of the art magazines "Contemporary And" ("C&") as well as "C& América Latina". C& is a dynamic platform where discourses and information on the practices of contemporary art are reflected and networked from global African perspectives. Until 2013, Ms. Grosse was an Arts Editor in London for the "Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung", the "AD" Magazine, the "SZ Magazine" and the "Tageszeitung". In march 2018, a new book about her grandparents was published by Hoffmann und Campe.